Jamie Sampson wins in Bulwell

Jamie Sampson wins in Bulwell

Bulwell Open 9

Congratulations to Jamie Sampson who defeated Alfie Palumbo 3-2 in the final of the April 2012 Spot On Snooker Tournament.

Palumbo took the first frame but Sampson then took the next two to go 2-1 up.  Palumbo snatched the fourth frame to set up a decider.  The deciding frame was extremely close, going right down to the pink.  A bout of safety finished with Palumbo leaving the pink ball over the corner pocket and Sampson sank it from distance for his first Spot On victory.  Sampson takes home the April trophy and £60 cash.  Palumbo pockets £30 for finishing runner-up.

To reach the final Sampson had defeated Spencer Dawkins (grade 2) in the quarter-final and Steven Hallworth (grade 1) in the semi-final.  Palumbo had beaten Nav Hussain (grade 1) and Jimmy Gratton (grade 1).  Very impressive indeed.

Joe Reynolds (grade 3) defeated Dave McCullogh (grade 4) 3-1 in the Plate final.  Reynolds beat Steve Butler (grade 2) and debutant Keith Duly (grade 3) to reach the final.  McCullogh defeated Nick Kirkman (grade 2) and Jason Green (grade 1).  Both Reynolds and McCullogh played very well and it was a shame there had to be a loser.  Thirteen-year-old Reynolds was delighted with his win and even more delighted with his £30 pay day.  McCullogh received £15 as runner-up and a further £5 for making the highest grade 4 break.  His run of 25 in the final eclipsed Mark Sheppard’s 21 break which looked like it wasn’t going to be beaten.  McCullogh’s 25 could have been so much more had he not missed the black into the middle bag.

On a day when virtually every competitor struggled on the breaks front, the breaks were not as big as usual.  The highest grade 1 break was just 57 by Jimmy Gratton.  Tom Goldstein’s 70 break won the grade 2 prize.  Keith Duly’s 29 break won the grade 3 prize.

A huge thanks to everyone who competed and also to Spot On for giving us 8 tables free of charge.

Full results available HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.