Steve Donner is the 2022 Champion of Champions

Steve Donner is the 2022 Champion of Champions

Steve Donner was a deserved recipient of the Alan Cunningham Trophy and £200 cash prize as he was crowned the 2022 Champion of Champions on Sunday at Spot On Cue Sports, Sneinton.

This end of season tournament, which pits the season’s tournament winners against each other, has been running since 2015 and it has had a different winner on all seven occasions (the 2017 winner is currently unrecorded – please contact me if you know who won it).

The Tournament Director for this season’s tournament was Robert Garratt who, as always, did a fantastic job. I know many people, myself included, were following the results throughout the day on Cuescore and it was interesting to watch Patrick Ashurst dispatch opponent after opponent and set up a cracking final with Steve.

Patrick won the 2021/22 Intermediate Handicap Snooker Championship to secure his place in the tournament and he has also started the current season really strongly, already sealing a place in the 2023 Champion of Champions by winning The Masters earlier this month.

Rob wanted 16 competitors in the tournament, so he filled some of the places with players who had finished runner-up or who had displayed outstanding performances throughout the season. This made for a competitive and enjoyable day of snooker.

Steve Donner (left) and Patrick Ashurst

Last 16

Patrick Ashurst 3-1 Keith Holgate
Moe Anyanwu 3-1 Manfred Corbin
Bash Maqsood 3-1 Dave Jobling
Wayne Martin 3-0 Audie Miller
Oliver Turner 3-2 Adam Hussain
Steve Donner 3-0 Mick Garratt
Nav Hussain 3-2 Danny Ould
Tony Morgan 3-2 Cary Davies


Patrick Ashurst 3-1 Moe Anyanwu
Bash Maqsood 3-2 Wayne Martin
Steve Donner 3-2 Oliver Turner
Nav Hussain 3-1 Tony Morgan

Semi-Finals (£30)

Patrick Ashurst 3-2 Bash Maqsood
Steve Donner 3-2 Nav Hussain

Final (£200 / £100)

Steve Donner 3-1 Patrick Ashurst

High Breaks

Steve Donner: 105,70,51
Nav Hussain: 76,57
Tony Morgan: 65
Bash Maqsood: 58


Adam Hussain (-7)
Audie Miller (-7)
Bash Maqsood (-14)
Cary Davies (-7)
Danny Ould (-7)
Dave Jobling (-14)
Keith Holgate (-21)
Manfred Corbin (0)
Mick Garratt (7)
Moe Anyanwu (0)
Nav Hussain (-21)
Oliver Turner (-7)
Patrick Ashurst (-7)
Steve Donner (-21)
Tony Morgan (-7)
Wayne Martin (-21)

Steve Butler
Nottingham Snooker Tournament Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *