Steve Donner wins the Hucknall Open

Steve Donner wins the Hucknall Open

Hucknall Open 14

Steve Donner, who was playing in his first Hucknall Open, emerged victorious but he was made to work for his victory by Dave Jobling in the final. Steve opened up a 2-0 lead with the help of a 47 break in frame one and a 41 break in frame two. However a fantastic run of 62 – the highest break of the tournament – by Dave in frame three made it 2-1. Dave then started strongly in frame four with a nice 41 break but Steve hit back and ended up winning the frame and match on the blue.

It was an enjoyable day with good performances by Andrew Brooke and Steve Capewell, neither of whom deserved to lose a terrific quarter-final.

Nottingham Snooker Classic runner-up Rocco Amalou was unluckly to draw the in-form Jobling in the first round and Danny Ould should really have won his match against Wayne Martin.

It was nice to see Rhys Kirkham making the trip over from Worksop again and also good to see Mansfield’s Scott Stephens having a crack at one of our tournaments.

This was my final one-day tournament of the season but there are still a few more to be played at Spot On Sneinton. Contact Robert Garratt for more details on those.

Last 16

Dave Jobling 3-0 Rocco Amalou
Wayne Martin 3-2 Danny Ould
Dale Prime 3-0 Scott Stephens
Tony Morgan 3-2 Dean North
Andrew Brooke 3-0 Rhys Kirkham
Steve Capewell 3-1 Oliver Turner
Macauley Croft 3-2 Patrick Ashurst
Steve Donner 3-0 Jamie Barker


Dave Jobling 3-1 Wayne Martin
Tony Morgan 3-0 Dale Prime
Andrew Brooke 3-2 Steve Capewell
Steve Donner 3-1 Macauley Croft

Semi-Finals (£10)

Dave Jobling 3-0 Tony Morgan
Steve Donner 3-0 Andrew Brooke

Final (£50 / £25)

Steve Donner 3-1 Dave Jobling

High Breaks

Dave Jobling: 62,48,47,41
Steve Donner: 61,60,56,53,47,43,41,40
Steve Capewell: 61
Wayne Martin: 52,44
Macauley Croft: 44


Andrew Brooke (-7)
Dale Prime (-14)
Danny Ould (-7)
Dave Jobling (-14)
Dean North (+21)
Jamie Barker (+7)
Macauley Croft (-7)
Oliver Turner (-7)
Patrick Ashurst (-7)
Rhys Kirkham (+14)
Rocco Amalou (+28)
Scott Stephens (+7)
Steve Capewell (-14)
Steve Donner (-21)
Tony Morgan (-7)
Wayne Martin (-21)

Steve Butler
Nottingham Snooker Tournament Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *