Oliver Turner wins the Phyllis Bell Trophy

Oliver Turner wins the Phyllis Bell Trophy

The Phyllis Bell Trophy has never been won more than once by any player and the 2022 event saw yet another new name on the trophy as Oliver Turner beat Ben Monk 3-2 in a fantastic final that was full of attacking play from both players. Ben went 2-0 down before fighting back to level the match and force a decider on a day that saw no fewer than nine matches go the distance. But it was Oliver who edged the decider, two breaks of 30 proving to be crucial.

Preliminary Round

Dave Jobling (0) 3-1 Dean North (42)
Shane Fella (42) 3-2 Wayne Martin (0)
Andrew Diacopoulos (14) 3-0 Kevin Henson (56)

Last 16

Dave Jobling 3-1 Shane Fella
Andrew Diacopoulos 3-1 Audie Miller (14)
Ben Monk (14) 3-2 Dale Prime (14)
Patrick Ashurst (14) 3-2 John Forbes (14)
Terry Dowson (14) 3-2 Robert Garratt (14)
Tony Morgan (14) 3-0 Jamie Barker (28)
Mick Garratt (28) 3-2 Nick Lester (28)
Oliver Turner (28) 3-0 Tangent Siu (28)


Dave Jobling 3-2 Andrew Diacopoulos
Ben Monk 3-1 Patrick Ashurst
Terry Dowson 3-1 Tony Morgan
Oliver Turner 3-2 Mick Garratt

Semi-Finals (£20)

Ben Monk 3-1 Dave Jobling
Oliver Turner 3-2 Terry Dowson

Final (£100 / £50)

Oliver Turner 3-2 Ben Monk

High Breaks

Audie Miller 58
Oliver Turner 55
Dave Jobling 53,53
Andrew Diacopoulos 53
Patrick Ashurst 52

Steve Butler

Nottingham Snooker Tournament Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *