A third successive Seniors title for Wayne Martin

A third successive Seniors title for Wayne Martin

Wayne Martin’s second tournament final this week saw him inflict another 4-0 defeat, his opponent this time being the four-time Notts Amateur champion Guy Dennis.

The Seniors Championship – a tournament dominated by Tony Hart back in the 1990s – was resurrected in 2022 when Wayne beat Steve Butler in the final. In 2023 Wayne defeated Gary Spencer to win the title for a second time. In the run up to this season’s triumph, Wayne didn’t drop a single frame as he beat Richard Wheelhouse 3-0 and Martin Conway 3-0. Very impressive indeed from a player who also finds time to run the Monday Team League when he isn’t playing!

Steve Butler
Nottingham Snooker

Match Report

Frame 1
After a rerack and an extended safety bout, the first frame kicked into action. A mistake from Guy let Wayne in for a run of 46. Finally Wayne getting over the line and taking the first frame.

Frame 2
Guy made a good start in this frame going 35 ahead quite quickly. Wayne got back into the frame and closed the gap. Then with an outrageous fluke Wayne potted the blue and pink to secure the frame and go 2 nil up.

Frame 3
Wayne made a good start in the third, going 33 up. Guy then made a super 44 break to go ahead. Guy looked like taking the frame, potting green and brown to go 18 ahead with 18 on. Sadly, he snookered himself on the blue and then failed to escape. Wayne stepped in and potted blue, a super pink and then black to move 3 up.

Frame 4
Guy played a poor safety shot and left Wayne with a couple of reds. He duly made a break of 76 to take the frame and match.

Prize Money & Trophies

Winner: £60 + Trophy
Runner-up: £30

Results from earlier rounds


  1. Wayne Martin 3-0 Martin Conway (Jan 16)
  2. Keith Holgate 2-3 Guy Dennis (Jan 15)


  1. Wayne Martin 3-0 Richard Wheelhouse (Dec 29)
  2. Patrick Ashurst scr-w/o Guy Dennis (Dec 29)
  3. Martin Conway 4-1 Patrick Hort (Dec 16)
  4. Terry Dowson 1-3 Keith Holgate (Dec 30)

Preliminary Round

  1. Martin Conway 3-1 Alan Caulton (Dec 4)
  2. Richard Wheelhouse 3-0 Cary Davies (Dec 5)
  3. Guy Dennis 3-0 Lea Bradshaw (Dec 7)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *